How to reset Ableton Live to default settings

To troubleshoot issues with Live, you can reset to default settings in case the problem has been caused by corrupted setting files. Resetting Live won’t delete any important files, such as project files and presets.

Note: Resetting Live performs the following actions:
Your template set project file will be erased if you have one
Live’s preferences will be deleted; audio and MIDI hardware needs to be setup again, plug-in support needs to be re-enabled and will rescan, custom preferences need to be set again

If you don’t want permanently delete Template.als and Preferences.cfg, you can copy those files to another location on your computer. If the reset has not solved the issue, then you can place them back into their former locations.

In order to perform a full reset of Live, please take the following steps:

1. Close Live
2. Delete the files “Preferences.cfg”, and if available “Template.als” and “Undo.cfg” in the following folder, where Live x.x.x corresponds to the version number of Live installed on your computer.

Windows:
Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Ableton\Live x.x.x\Preferences\

Mac:
Users/[username]/Library/Preferences/Ableton/Live x.x.x/

Note: These folders are hidden by default, here’s how to access hidden folders on Windows and Mac.

3. If you have previous versions of Live installed you should also delete the same files in their respective folders

4. Restart Live

Join the community of Ableton Live producers! See membership features...

Join Membership