Ableton and your computer?
Note: Resetting Live performs the following actions:
Your template set project file will be erased if you have one
Live’s preferences will be deleted; audio and MIDI hardware needs to be setup again, plug-in support needs to be re-enabled and will rescan, custom preferences need to be set again
If you don’t want permanently delete Template.als and Preferences.cfg, you can copy those files to another location on your computer. If the reset has not solved the issue, then you can place them back into their former locations.
In order to perform a full reset of Live, please take the following steps:
1. Close Live
2. Delete the files “Preferences.cfg”, and if available “Template.als” and “Undo.cfg” in the following folder, where Live x.x.x corresponds to the version number of Live installed on your computer.
Note: These folders are hidden by default, here’s how to access hidden folders on Windows and Mac.
3. If you have previous versions of Live installed you should also delete the same files in their respective folders
4. Restart Live
Organizing your Ableton Projects?
.alp stands for “Ableton Live Pack.”
It’s a zip file of your project and the samples used, but in a smaller, condensed format.
Why use it?
It makes it super easy to archive Ableton Live projects and share them.
How to make an .alp?
1. File –> Collect All and Save. -This will copy any samples, packs, recorded audio, and Max for Live devices to your project folder.
2. File –> Manage Files…
3. Click Manage Project (Center option on the right pane)
4. Click Create Pack (name your .alp)